How To Say Ireland’s Counties in Irish Gaelic (VIDEO)

The counties of Ireland are more than just sub-national divisions that geographically demarcate areas of local government. The 32 traditional counties of Ireland tell us a lot about their people, but more important show us how the country transformed itself during the most important periods of its history.

Some would argue that the counties are just important for local administration but if you compare the following maps: Provinces, counties and Irish dialects, you will start to see some resemblances, and maybe realize that, even today, the counties play an important role in Ireland’s culture.

There are 4 provinces and 32 counties in Ireland. In today’s Irish pronunciation video, we’ll learn how to say the name of every county in Ireland using the Irish Gaelic language.

You can subscribe to us on YouTube by clicking here. If you want to see the written pronunciation of every county in Ireland, go and check the video’s description on YouTube.

Dia duit! Siobhán here from Bitesize Irish Gaelic. I speak a Connaught dialect.

Irish for Beginners free one-month course

Learn to introduce yourself in Ireland's native language. Sent directly to your email inbox.

What you get for signing up:

"We don't sell or spam your details." - Eoin Ó Conchúir, Founder, Bitesize Irish.

2 thoughts on “How To Say Ireland’s Counties in Irish Gaelic (VIDEO)”

  1. This helps me understand the co between the different areas and some of the history there. For example County Tyrone – Tir Eoghan. 😊

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.